the interrogative mood: a novel?

Buy Cheap The Interrogative Mood: A Novel?

Buy Low Price From Here Now

Are you happy? Do we need galoshes? Are bluebirds perfect? Do you know the distinctions, empirical or theoretical, between moss and lichen? Is it clear to you why I am asking you all these questions? Should I go away? Leave you alone? Should I bother but myself with the interrogative mood?

The acclaimed writer Padgett Powell is fascinated by what it feels like to walk through everyday life, to hear the swing and snap of American talk, to be both electrified and overwhelmed by the mad cacophony—the “muchness”—of America. The Interrogative Mood is Powell’s playful and profound response, a bebop solo of a book in which every sentence is a question.

Perhaps only Powell—a writer who was once touted as the best of his generation by Saul Bellow and “among the top five writers of fiction in the country” by Barry Hannah—could pull off such a remarkable stylistic feat. Is it a novel? Whatever it is, The Interrogative Mood is one of the most audacious literary high-wire acts since Nicholson Baker’s The Mezzanine. Powell’s unnamed narrator forces us to consider our core beliefs, our most cherished memories, our views on life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. In fiction as in life, there may be no easy answers—but The Interrogative Mood is an exuberant book that leaves the reader feeling a little more alive.

…….
Readmore

Technical Details

– ISBN13: 9780061859410
– Condition: NEW
– Notes: Brand New from Publisher. No Remainder Mark.
Click here to view our Condition Guide and Shipping Prices
See more technical details
Customer Buzz

 “Is this a novel?” 2009-11-27
By book whisperer (netherlands)
Whatever this book is or will be recognized to be, it is one of a kind. Literally every sentence in the book is a question. What amazed and delighted me is that it’s actually a good read! Not just because it is witty, captivating, touching and beautifully written… there are more examples of all that. I was reminded more than once of Holden Caulfield. I could well believe that this is him badgering you with all these questions. (and in view of Salinger’s easy access to lawyers I hasten to add that this is purely my own private impression, and in no way is the author responsible.)

I believe here is a new way of storytelling, and a very interesting and rewarding one. When I got over my initial surprise (and yes, impatience) I found that instead of sort of trying to answer the questions, my brain started to go with the flow… much as I would go along with a strong, intelligent and convincing voice, not unlike those of Nabokov’s Charley Kinbote or Martin Amis’ John Self. But even among these giants Powell more than holds his own. The Interrogative Mood literally forces your brain to make up its own ‘story’, and in that sense offers a truly different and new reading experience. Much more than previous lame experiments in ‘interactive’ storytelling, this book needs a good reader to make it happen, to make it complete. Be that reader and you will never forget it.

Customer Buzz

 “:-)” 2009-11-20
By A. Stevenson (Florida)
I had a smile on my face the whole time I was reading this book. Witty, ridiculous, droll, disarming, laugh-out-loud, original. A peek inside the author’s mind: Ye gods, fella! I really loved it.

Customer Buzz

 “Is It Possible, That Padget Powell Has no Answers?” 2009-11-09
By Jordan Robitaille (Gainesville, Florida)
Is the reason I chose this book obvious to you? Will it be? If you were to read this book, would you have done the same thing? Does a book, in which every sentence is a question, sound absurd? Or compelling? How many questions, do you think, are in this book? Does not knowing drive you mad? Does it sound right to you, that the reason I chose this book is that it makes me, and probably everyone else who reads it, take a long, second look at themselves? And also, that after reading this book, I found a new side to myself that I never knew exists? Does that sound reasonable? If I told you that I found this book so compelling that I read it twice, trying to find different answers to each of the questions that were still true, just not the same as my first answers, would you believe me? Would you allow me to say the reason I chose this passage is because it helps you to understand the personality of the person talking to you, and shows you that he is a little crazy, or would that be unacceptable? Does my saying that the reason I chose this book is that this book has no story line, but still seems more exciting than most books that do because you get to star as the main character in each sentence, make you want to do nothing else, but just read this book? Does it seem too out of sight, the notion of a man, who has never met you, who doesn’t even know your name, can help you understand yourself, more than some professionals. I think that the most compelling reason I chose to do this book, is, no matter how many times you read it, the story line is always changing, always molding around you, or is that a load of baloney? And, I ask you, is it possible, that Padget Powell has no answers?

Customer Buzz

 “to buy or not to buy – that is the question” 2009-11-03
By Harriet Klausner
This is an odd yet fascinating book as there are no declarative sentences. Instead every line is a question that goes deeper and deeper in profundity and acerbity. Starting with a childlike innocence re “Are your emotions pure?” and asking seemingly silly questions like “Would you eat a monkey? and ending with the seemingly finish to a relationship between the interrogator and a silent responder (can that be readers?) whose lack of resonances implies much with “Are you leaving now? Intriguing with a weird psychological spin, recommend those who appreciate a deep internal look at one’s self, answer the questions; just do it over a few weeks or your loved ones will ask are you crazy especially at $21.99? Hopefully yours do not answer that.

Harriet Klausner

Customer Buzz

 “No Need to Ever Read Another Book” 2009-11-01
By Bartleby (scrivner) (Southern Pines, NC)
Better, much better than the Bible. Contains more education than a Ph.d. Become smarter than your friends by reading this. The only book you ever need shipwrecked on a desert island. Answer all the questions and win the Dumbel prize for literature. Read some of these questions every day and become enlightend. Instead of the invocation at the beginning of congressional sessions have them read and discuss some of the questions. My dog loved it. My aquarium fish are still pondering one of the hard ones I gave them. I want a scrolling screensaver with the questions. I want wall paper with the questions. Issue one to every one serving a life sentence, give an autographed one to Bernie Madoff, maybe not, its too good for him. Send one to Obama as he ponders Afghanistan and Health Care reform. Give one to your ex-wives, only if you still like them. Home school your kids with only one book. Write your own.

Images Product

Buy The Interrogative Mood: A Novel? Now

No comments yet

Leave a comment